After India captain Virat Kohli had won the toss and elected to bat, India were jolted early as Rohit was given out by the third umpire when the Windies skipper Jason Holder decided to review an on-field ‘not out’ decision
Manchester: The Decision Review System (DRS) was back in focus as India lost opening batsman Rohit Sharma in controversial circumstances during their ICC World Cup 2019 match against West Indies at Old Trafford on Thursday (June 27).
Also read: Full schedule of India matches at World Cup with start times, live TV, streaming info
After India captain Virat Kohli had won the toss and elected to bat, India were jolted early as Rohit was given out by the third umpire when the Windies skipper Jason Holder decided to review an on-field ‘not out’ decision.
Also read: World Cup 2019 format, rain rules, Super Over and other playing conditions
On the final ball of the sixth over, bowled by Kemar Roach, the ball sneaked through the gap between Rohit’s bat and pad, and was caught by wicketkeeper Shai Hope. The right-arm paceman Roach, Hope and his colleagues appealed for a wicket but the English umpire Richard Illingworth said no.
Also read: Shoaib Akhtar seeks India's help for Pakistan to reach semi-finals
Also read: Full list of TV channels for each country to watch World Cup 2019
However, West Indies reviewed and it was left to the third umpire Michael Gough (England) to view the replays and give a decision. Gough was quick to rule Rohit out for 18 even though there was no conclusive evidence. India lost their first wicket for 29. Following Gough's message, Illingworth reversed his decision.
out -like
— Bishojit Biswas (@BishojitBiswas6) June 27, 2019
not out -retweet#RohitSharma pic.twitter.com/DWTqnIeglK
As the ball went past the bat and pad, the UltraEdge showed a spike. However, it was not clear whether the ball had hit the bat or pad. The ball seemed to have passed both bat and pad at the same time and there was no conclusive evidence to say that the ball had made contact with the bat alone.
As is the case, social media users were abuzz soon after the decision was made. They questioned the umpire’s hurry to reverse the on-field call. Even Rohit looked unhappy with the decision as he made a long walk back to the pavilion.
RT, if you think Rohit Sharma was not out. #INDvWI
— ANSHUMAN🚩 (@AvengerReturns) June 27, 2019
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either.
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
Controversial first wicket @EmiratesOT!
— Lancashire Cricket (@lancscricket) June 27, 2019
Did you agree with the third umpire's decision to give @ImRo45 out? 🤔 #WIvIND #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/3tswJubuHt
Was there enough conclusive evidence to give Rohit caught-behind? I’m not so sure....but that’s strictly my opinion. Umpire giving it Not-Out is the equivalent of a soft-signal in this case.... #CWC19 #IndvWI
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) June 27, 2019
Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT!
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) June 27, 2019
Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!#cwc2019🏆… https://t.co/FXRgzrFcMv
That review against Rohit ,definitely was not conclusive as the umpire mentioned on air.... soo... much for technology 🤷🏻♂️ #INDvsWI #CWC19
— subramani badrinath (@s_badrinath) June 27, 2019
Last Updated Jun 27, 2019, 6:43 PM IST